Archian Speaks in Bacolod and Dubai

A Cool mix of Real Life, Architecture, Finances, Working as an OFW, Business

I Now Stand Here

Leave a comment


Archian - Life, Bacolod, Architecture, Finances & Dubai

I Now Stand Here
by Arch Ian Jay Bantilan

Three years into this goal, feeling battered is an understatement.

Written August 31, 2013 after HRM MBA Class. 

I now stand here in this wide field in the University where I have grown, studied and learned when I was a kid. Where I gaze, used to be endless fields of grass fenced by Eucalyptus, Pines and the eternal sky. Now I see fields of green disciplined by constant mowing for the purpose of Sports. This is a game of strength and will of which no other use of body but head and foot. In this Grandstand, I have witnessed formidable teams and mythic clubs who battled for supremacy in this arena.

Ian B in the USLS Bacolod City - Grand Stand (1)

Ian B in the USLS Bacolod City – Grand Stand (1)

I come to sense the challenge.

In my thoughts are the constant questions whether indeed, I have trained rightly for the task I am to undertake. In constant dreams I have seen visions of men and women who have proven champions over trials and the countless faces, bloodied, the vanquished. It is their plight that troubles me. Yet, I have figured that everything I have trained in the past 33 months have placed me into this glorious and yet dreadful opportunity.

La Salle - USLS Bacolod City - Grand Stand (3)

La Salle – USLS Bacolod City – Grand Stand (3)

Football Teams Struggle

Football Teams Struggle

I am drawn into this challenge.

Will my sacrifices over many years and those of my family be deficient when I face my ethereal enemy on the gates. Will I have honored the teachings and lessons of all my mentors? Will my education prove victorious? Will my strategy and marketing prevail unto the goal? For this contest will not be won by physical might or force; nor can it be handled by bare speed.

Football Azkals - Philippine Team

Football Azkals – Philippine Team

I have come into the challenge.

For my challenge lies ahead. Looming with every step in every day. And my heart welcomes and yet detest this fate. As in the Art of War, he who owns the greater preparation and superior counsel of many elders will finally be the victor.

La Salle - USLS Bacolod City - Grand Stand (3)

La Salle – USLS Bacolod City – Grand Stand (3)

Therefore the sovereign will take caution

and never make haste.

He will rebuild every weakened stronghold.

He will plan.

He will analyze.

He will train.

And he will take care.

He will take care to study the enemy.

Stephen Schrock Azkals

Stephen Schrock Azkals

But for those afar,

for those beyond,

for those who behold the battlefield,

it will seem tranquil and at peace.

No voice.

No shout.

No thunder of bullets.

A great calm before the storm.

La Salle - USLS Bacolod City - Grand Stand (4)

La Salle – USLS Bacolod City – Grand Stand (4)

Yet mine is the first shout. I will initiate the battle cry! I will pick the place and the time and the opportunity. I will choose the battles that I lose, and those that I eventually win.

The battle has begun!

Author: Ian Jay Bantilan

An Architect, Blogger and Strategic Thinker

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,094 other followers