Archian Speaks in Bacolod and Dubai

A Cool mix of Real Life, Architecture, Finances, Working as an OFW, Business

Unconventional Ways to use Colored Markers or Felt Tip Pens

Leave a comment


Archian - Life, Bacolod, Architecture, Finances & Dubai

 Unconventional Ways to use Colored Markers or Felt Tip Pens

One of the most neglected part of any rendering (but creates the greatest visual impact) is the background.

Architecture Marker rendering - Ocean View Buildings

Architecture Marker rendering – Ocean View Buildings

As an architecture student once, I had the systematic way of visualizing my Perspectives before I start, but as time is lost in the Floor Plan, Section and the General Presentation, the last drawing to get done is the Perspective. And while I cramped in the last 30 minutes of my time to pass my Plate, what only mattered is that I save more time in a fast sketch so I could get my sleep before my class the next day.

 

The videos I have posted here shows a fast-forward of a render done in Marker. what you can see is that the renderer has used an unconventional use of marker – wetting your work with alcohol and spreading the ink like a wash. I don’t recommend these to amateurs, but hey, if you can do this right, your work could look a little better.

The second one is similar to the video above, unfortunately, the renderings are too sketchy. I would suggest to spill your ink more around the sky or ground area to cover more ground rather than the building itself.  Another point is that these renderings include some colored pencils, which would make it “mixed media”.

I hope we could all learn from a little rendering session.

If you want to learn more the articles below:
Resort Entrance using Marker Rendering

Unconventional Ways to use Colored Markers or Felt Tip Pens

LCC- Marker / Felt Tip Pens – 9 Tips for Architecture Rendering

LCC- Marker / Basic Architecture Rendering using Markers

Author: Archian

An Architect, Blogger and Strategic Thinker

Leave a Reply

