Archian Speaks in Bacolod and Dubai

A Cool mix of Real Life, Architecture, Finances, Working as an OFW, Business

Legacy of Prayer: My Grandmother

Leave a comment


Archian - Life, Bacolod, Architecture, Finances & Dubai

Guilerma Lubrico: Legacy of a Praying Grandmother

Prayer in my Family

I grew up having Saturday night devotions by my faithful mom, teaching me stories of faith and faithfulness, patterned after the Fundamental Baptist tradition. This is usually capped of by individual prayer.

Growing up, my prayers are usually a great way to indulge my creativity: awesome words, spoken in english, throwing in a few vocabulary and word list, (I still didn’t know poetry, but recognized the power these words have in shaping my perspective). As I left to study in Manila, it was also a time when I glimpse my parents have a 20 minute prayer on the dining table. What an expression of restraint on appetite! Nevertheless, my mom still loved sweets and my dad loved good food. But what I was to know is that I had someone in my family who’s got regular guards of 12-foot angels on all sides at all times. And how could she not? She prays a lot. My parents devotion and faith are an overflow from hers!

 

Generational Faith

I am reminded of the Scripture in 2 Timothy 1 :1-5 . And my favorite amplified version.

I thank God Whom I worship with a pure conscience, in the spirit of my fathers, when without ceasing I remember you night and day in my prayers,

And when, as I recall your tears, I yearn to see you so that I may be filled with joy.

I am calling up memories of your sincere and unqualified faith (the leaning of your entire personality on God in Christ in absolute trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness), a faith that first lived permanently in [the heart of] your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am fully persuaded, dwells in you also.

That is why I would remind you to stir up (rekindle the embers of, fan the flame of, and keep burning) the gracious gift of God, the inner fire that is in you by means of the laying on of my hands with those of the elders at your ordination.

Faith is not static. It’s dynamic. Most times, the kids catch the fire. The grandchildren catch the fire. In this passage, it started with Lois, in my case, my Grandmother Guilerma Lubrico, then passed on to my parents and then to me.

Lola Osing: Praying Grandmother

Lola Osing: Praying Grandmother

Things that happen when my Folks pray:

1. Unexplainable energy, strength, peace and well being.

“The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”

2. Angels lend you a helping hand.

Your words have power. They can bring life or tear others down.

Words spoken in relationship with Jesus – have authority. “All authority in Heaven and on Earth. . .”

3. Curses or Bondages can be broken.

4. Deadly Consequences of Sin can be delayed. (Eventually you will still reap what you sow, but God’s Judgement is held on.

Amos 7 “God heard the prayer and did not bring the judgment on the people.”

Genesis  – Abraham Pleads for Sodom and God gave his request. But there was not enough righteous people that Abraham requested. Nevertheless, God spared Lot (Abraham’s relative).

I am not saying that my family is perfect. On the contrary, we have a lot of disfunction and imperfections. And what I am thankful for is that maybe, through this disfunction, my dad and mom realized the curse and disgrace of a broken family and seek to build a strong foundation.

Guilerma Lubrico - Heroes of Faith - Honoring our Elders

Guilerma Lubrico – Heroes of Faith – Honoring our Elders

Author: Archian

An Architect, Blogger and Strategic Thinker

Leave a Reply

